top of page
  • Writer's pictureZJC

Day 3: Socks! Am I Right?

There are very few things in this world that give me more joy than a pair of socks. And not just any sock. New socks always rock. Preferably, Fruit of the Loom. I prefer the Fruit because they are soft. And that’s the thing about socks: they are soft and warm. The softer and warmer the better. Of course, not in the steaming heat of summertime, but definitely in the bitter cold of winter. Especially during the holiday season when there is nothing better to do than to over-eat and watch the Lions disappoint you for the thirtieth year in a row.


Socks are like a Snuggy for your feet. They are like a king-size goose down blanket for your toes. Again, I am not talking about any old hole-in-the-heel sock. I’m talking about the good stuff – the straight from Columbia, pure uncut fleece, four-thousand thread llama socks. I don’t think that is a thing but a man can dream.


Furthermore, I have created a happy association with socks. A mild addiction, like cigarettes, that associates habits with joy. For the past three years, I have been wearing thin, mildly annoying dress socks five days a week inside of my pointed-toe shoes that lack the cushion and raw jumping power of Nikes. Getting home from work and taking off those stuffy underlings is a fantastic feeling. Not to mention the tie. And with nothing else to do for the day, I am able to slip into something a little more comfortable… You guessed it: soft ass socks. This association with less stress and more comfort has only reinforced what I already believed since I was six years old.


Here are some things that go with socks:

coffee, breakfast, dessert, mmmm, book, snuggle, autumn, mocha, love, binge-watching, hangover mornings, sliding across the floor like Tom Cruise.


Socks rock. Prove me wrong.


Author’s Note #1: Darn Tough Socks are the bomb for hiking and not getting blisters or having the inside of your boot smell like a jockstrap.


Author’s Note#2: Silk socks, I recently learned, help keep your feet comfortable and dry while inside a cotton sock that collects moisture.

46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page