top of page
  • Writer's pictureZJC

Day 33: Dr. Pepper

It’s the go-to for most of my fast food trips.


Part of it is nostalgia. During my Delta College days, I would meet a friend at McDonald’s and always get Dr. Pepper. Since then, it is hard to not drink it while eating McNuggets with buffalo sauce.


That habit has evolved into Subway.


My favorite soda flavor growing up was Cherry Coke. That could have something to do with it.


At the restaurant I used to work at, we served Mr. Pibb. I would tell customers that it’s just like Dr. Pepper except that he doesn’t have a degree. Very few people laughed.


I don’t think there is pepper in it, but I could be wrong.


There is something alluring about not going with the mainstream Coca-Cola Classic or even Sprite.


Dr. Pepper is the naughty cousin.


I don’t remember if Diet Dr. Pepper tastes more like regular Dr. Pepper.


It is all very phonetically pleasing: D and P are strong beginning sounds; both words have two syllables; and they both end in the soft ‘r’ sound, which helps the name roll off the tongue.


I haven’t drank a Dr. Pepper in a few months.

These Dr. Peppers are making me thirsty.


 

Author’s Note #1: I was put up to this.


Author’s Note #2: Eight hours. Your brother. Fifteen-thousand dollars.


Author’s Note #3: Smell sign!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page